Eastern Region, Purwanchal, Nepal

The fourteen administrative zones of Nepal are split between five development regions, one of which is the Eastern (Purwanchal) Region. The town of Dhankuta is the capital of the Eastern Region, as well as the capital of the Dhankuta District. The area around the town is primarily used for agriculture, with small rural villages scattered throughout the region. Dhankuta is located on the North-South Koshi Highway and serves as an important commercial and trading center for the Eastern Region of Nepal.

Located in the Koshi Zone of the Eastern Region, the city of Biratnagar is Nepal’s second largest city, offering quite a number of attractions that tourists find appealing. Biratnagar is the gateway to the Koshi Tappu Wildlife Reserve, a peaceful haven for Nepal’s flora and fauna and a prime bird-watching destination that is visited by birding enthusiasts from far and wide. Also near Biratnagar is the Hindu pilgrimage site of Baraha Kshetra drawing Hindu devotees to worship.

Trekking is a wonderful way to enjoy the natural treasures and scenic beauty of Nepal and there are many trekking routes to choose from in the Eastern Region. Whichever way you choose to travel you are sure to find many interesting places when exploring the Eastern Region (Purwanchal) of Nepal.


back to Regions